I prefer Green Belts to Green Beer

Last night I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day by going to hear Wangari Maathai, the 2004 Nobel Peace Price Winner, speak with David, Jennie, and Brigham. It was great. She has proved that simply planting trees can change the world.

My parents were in town visiting last Saturday until Wednesday. It was alot of fun. We went to all of the standard place – Snoqualmie Falls, the Ballard Locks, the Space Needle, and Pikes Place of course. To those places, we also took the ferry out to Whidbey Island on a lovely day and saw the daffodils blooming in Skagit County. On the two days I had to work, my parents went to Bremerton, Mt. Rainier, and Mt. St. Helens. They actually beat me to Mt. Rainier because I still haven’t been there. I was sad to see them go home. It turns out, I am quite a sap when it comes to my family. The older I get, the less time I have to spend with them, and the sadder it makes me. Nonetheless, it was a fun visit and provided a great opportunity to see some of those green places that make Wangari Maathai’s message so much more potent.

Here are some pictures from their visit:


Here are me and my parents at Snoqualmie falls.


David and I on top of the Space Needle

Mom at Deception Pass on Whidbey Island

Mom and Dad on Whidbey Island

Dad and the Puget Sound from Whidbey Island

Leave a Reply

