Earthquakes and Diseases for a Happy Day

So yesterday was an absolutely terrible day at work. Horrible. So I thought to myself after work yesterday, what generally makes me feel better? Why, reading a good book of course not related to anything legal whatsoever. So I took a trip to the Elliot Bay Book Company last night in search of a much needed diversion (even though I am not quite done with the Carolina/Duke basketball book yet and I still have a Nadine Gordimer book sitting on my bookshelf that I need to read). I was quite proud of myself that I decided not to get the Jane Austen biography that I was carrying around, and that I also put back the Elizabeth I biography I thought looked interesting (It is a slippery slope down the road to ending up at the Jane Austen biography). So I returned to some books involving previous obsessions of mine – earthquakes and diseases. Perhaps my blog would be better titled “My obsessive tendencies”…

Anyway, when you are already feeling considerable anxiety about your abilities at work and your stability in the world it is probably not a good idea to read a book called, “The Hypochondriac’s Pocket Guide to Horrible Diseases You Probably Already Have” (by Dennis DiClaudio). Now I am extremely paranoid that there are diseases out there just waiting to afflict me with symptoms ranging from a constant burning mouth to prematurely decaying flesh. In any case, maybe this will finally do the trick and break me from my unconscious thumb sucking habit.

The other book, “The Myth of Solid Ground: Eathquakes, Prediction, and the Fault Line Between Reason and Faith,” by David L. Ulin, seems almost refreshing by comparison.

Way to cheer myself up.

Leave a Reply

