Get on the phone Kofi!

President Bush’s overheard remarks yesterday to Prime Minister Tony Blair, actually gave me more confidence in the president than any rehearsed statement he has made since he has taken office. Slate has an excellent article in the exact same phenomenon. Aside from President Bush’s misuse of the word irony, he actually sounded like he knew what he was talking about yesterday. And, he actually sounded like he believed diplomacy was important. It was refreshing to hear it from a President that I lost any confidence in so long ago. Even though I don’t agree with the President’s unabashed support of Israel (their response and infliction of harm on the civilian population of Lebanon has just been too disproportionate for my taste), I like to see that he is actually thinking.

For my birthday weekend, David and I went hiking in the Hoh Rainforest in Olympic National Park. It was a perfect sunny day in the rainforest, which was green as far as the eye could see. Unless you looked down, that is. If you looked down, you would just see mud. But I think that it is important to get dirty now and then. We ate dinner at a delicious French Restaurant, Chez Shea on Saturday night. Thus, my birthday was pretty well spent. Of course, that is if you don’t count the distressing event of having that time of the month and its associated symptoms overlap with a day when I was already stressing out about my ticking biological clock and fear that menopause is closer than ever. At 28, I am starting to worry about such things.

Leave a Reply

