I’m Henry the Eighth, I am

In my last post, I wrote about the latest novel I read on Lady Jane Grey. Today, I watched the first two episodes of the new Showtime drama “The Tudors” online. I have always had at least some passing interest with British history, that lately has entered a more obsessive phase. I have to say about the Tudors, that from a historically authentic point of view, I would first have to take issue with the appearances of all of the actors in the Tudors. Where is the famous Tudor red hair? I mean, I realize that this is Hollywood, but does everyone have to be so obscenely attractive? I realize that creating a drama about Henry VIII means that you just want to show the king in lots of sexy situations, but Jonathan Rhys-Myers? That was the best you can do?

That being said, there is one casting that I want to applaud – Jeremy Northam as Sir Thomas More. First of all Jeremy Northam as pretty much anyone is going to be pretty great, but to cast him as one of the most admirable historical figures I think is a job well done.

It will be interesting to see how this show develops…

In the meantime, I am back to trying to memorize the family trees of British royalty and nobility. I like to be full of useful information.

Leave a Reply

