Now Batting, third baseman Jane Austen. . .

My friends Tracy and Brigham would be proud of me. I went to three Seattle Mariners games in one week. The first game was last Saturday with our new friends Ryan and Cat. Then, we decided to go to the game on Wednesday night since the Mariners were playing the Angels, and they are trying to beat them and get to the top of the AL West Division. Then on Friday night, we decided to go again for two reasons – the Mariners were playing the Red Sox, and I love cheering against the Red Sox (I can’t help it, I am still a Yankees fan), and Adam Jones, my favorite player from the Tacoma Rainiers got called up to play for the Mariners. We picked three good games to attend – the Mariners won all of those games. They didn’t fare as well in the Red Sox games yesterday and today, nor in one of the other games in the Angels series. Although baseball is one of the sports I probably know the least about, I do enjoy Safeco Field on a warm, summer evening. Not only is it a perfect excuse to eat garlic fries and boo referees, but it is one of those American traditions I actually enjoy. I also enjoy thinking up insults in my mind for the insane number of Red Sox fans that pop up at a stadium even across the country from Boston. The worst thing about Sarah moving to Boston is that I think she will become a Red Sox fan. If she realized how many Red Sox fans I see that also wear Duke paraphanelia, maybe she would change her mind.

Pointless rivalries, people always like something to divide and distinguish them. I am such a hypocrite about this. Such a hypocrite.

So just to stay in touch with my feminine side, to divert myself from the mental taunts I composed, I also saw Becoming Jane this weekend. Although the movie was pretty much inventing a history for Jane Austen for which there is limited proof, I found it quite enjoyable. The thing that I find interesting is that so many people say that Tom Lefroy was her model for Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice, but if anything, his character in the movie seemed a little more Wickham than Darcy. But I guess he challenged Jane in the same way that Mr. Darcy challenged Elizabeth Bennet, so perhaps that is where the parallel is made.

What is it about contemporary American culture that leaves so many of us wishing that we were experiencing life through the lens of Regency Era England? Why does it seem so much more romantic than life in modern day America?

In the film, Jane played cricket. I watch baseball. That’s really all I can say about it.

Leave a Reply

