Back to September

I am finally getting around to posting some overdue photos from my recent trip back to the South.

First things first. My cousin Danielle’s daughter, Carson, knows there is a right way to eat cupcakes. Extra messy and extra sprinkles:
Now that has been said, I can move on to the only pictures that David and I took when we were in Orlando. We went to Orlando to meet with our Disney wedding planner, to plan out the details of our reception. I didn’t take any pictures of this planning frenzy because I don’t want to spoil the surprise for any of our friends or family who may attend. Suffice it to say, that planning the details made me so excited and I am quite optimistic that a good time will be had by all. It was also exciting to be able to plan most of the details so that I don’t have to stress out about them as much now that I am back in school. I just have to count down the days.

We also were able to see my good friends, the Messers, and meet the newest member of their brood.
I think that David wanted to take the puppy home with him.

But he couldn’t. Not only would Richelle have been sad, but we had to make another pit stop before we made it back to Seattle. We had to stop by everyone’s favorite money trap in the desert that built itself on the misuse of the Colorado River – Las Vegas. This time, we stayed at the Westin, which was one refreshing block off of the Strip but seemed like it could have been miles away. That is, until you looked out of the window. The view gave it all away.We had to make a stop at one of our favorite Vegas spots – the Conservatory at the Bellagio (mostly to see if it was Professor Plum with the Candlestick) to check out the seasonal indoor garden. This season featured Halloween Ents:

Otherwise, this Vegas sojourn featured the main attributes of other Vegas trips from days past, namely, a good dinner (this time at a French restaurant at the Venetian), and shopping. Back in the day, I was the Vegas shopper. Now, David puts me to shame. Las Vegas contains stores for David’s favorite British designers, and he just is a weakling when it comes to resisting those slim British cuts that were made for body types just like him. Last time we were here in February, it was the Ted Baker store. This time, he did his damage at the Ben Sherman store. Well, that was where he did his damage on Friday. When we were back in Vegas on Sunday to catch our flight back to Seattle, David did the real damage at Neiman Marcus where he bought a Paul Smith suit to wear to our wedding (along with a tie, shirt, and pocket square). NOTE: For anyone coming to the wedding, this might be the one wedding that you attend in history where the cost of the groom’s attire far exceeded the cost of the bride’s. He better not look better than me!!

But I am getting way ahead of myself here. On Saturday morning, we drove to Springdale, Utah for the wedding of our good friends Dan and Marie. They had planned to have a beautiful outdoor ceremony, framed by the cliffs of Zions National Park. Unfortunately, the strangest thing of all happened. It poured rain in the desert in late September. Poured. This was the view from our balcony at the lodge when we arrived.

I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but it really was gray and rainy. Take my word for it. This meant that Dan and Marie had to scramble around to find another place to host their wedding, luckily finding a community center/library in Springdale itself. They were able to have their ceremony on a veranda outside, before it started pouring rain again. The wedding guests were treated to one spectacular rainbow, though.

How many weddings get to have that? David and I tried to have our picture taken in front of it. Unfortunately, the part with the rainbow didn’t quite turn out.

The wedding was great fun as we got to see lots of old friends including Abby, still in North Carolina, and the entire van Uitert clan. It was good to see everyone. On an unrelated sidenote, here is a quick thought regarding my attire. No one else told me that the entire wedding party, and most other people at the wedding were going to be wearing black. I, on the other hand, had dressed to match the colors of Southern Utah, so it was easy to spot me in the crowd.

I met Dan and Marie, the Groom and Bride, the same weekend that I first met David in New York in 2003. Marie and David were roommates in DC and Marie’s sister Becca and her husband Jason lived in Queens and Marie and Dan were visiting them that weekend. It was one weekend where I was able to meet so many great people. Congrats Marie and Dan!

Leave a Reply

