Swell

I am a fan of the movie Once. So last night, I was really excited to see The Swell Season, at the Moore Theater. The Swell Season, of course, is Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova accompanied by a bassist, violinst, and a cellist. They are even more charming in person than they are in their film. However, something about their music is so weighty, that I feel like I will still have the sensation of someone sitting upon my chest days from now. Perhaps it is because of Glen Hansard’s voice; perhaps it is the cello; perhaps it is that their music conjures up ghosts (more of the Irish and not Scottish variety); perhaps it is that Marketa is Czech and it inevitably reminds me of the Czech writer, Milan Kundera, and The Unbearable Lightness of Being, and the whole dichotomy of weight versus lightness. But now that I am older I do believe that it is quite possible to feel weight and lightness all in the same moment, although I am not entirely sure whether that is a good or bad thing.

Leave a Reply

