Hope has Left the Building

At my precinct caucus today, I was prepared to hear the debate be on substance versus inspiration. I volunteered to give the candidate speech for Hillary, and then the “precinct chair” for Obama gave the speech for Obama. Here is the text from my speech:

“In deciding who I was going to support today, I realized that I am an incredibly fortunate person. It probably won’t personally matter much in my life who is the next president because I am so fortunate. But in thinking about this, I recalled the words of Hillary Clinton to two reporters from New York Magazine. She said:

Most Americans need a president. Not everyone, probably not the two of you. So you are free to vote how you choose. You can vote on a feeling, you can vote on a speech, you can vote on a debate, you can vote any way that you want. But if you are on the brink of falling out of the middle class, if you’re worried about health care, home foreclosures, and all these other problems, then you need a president that you can believe in and count on to deliver.

I thought about these words when I thought about who I would support today – for people in need, which candidate would help them the most.

“For my Sudanese friends in Washington who escaped war to build a better life in America, only to find they can’t even afford to see a doctor here, I am voting for Hillary because she is the only candidate offering a truely universal health care plan.

“For my family in Mississippi, and for people all along the Gulf Coast, who suffered through the mismanagement of FEMA after Hurricane Katrina, I am supporting Hillary who promises to appoint experts once again to head up government agencies and to do a top to bottom overhaul of those agencies.

“For the kids I worked with in the Bronx, and for my mom, a teacher, I am voting for Hillary who has primised to do away with No Child Left Behind and make college education affordable again.

“For my sisters, the scientists, I am supporting Hillary Clinton who has pledged to end the war on science, fund stem-cell research, and subsidize the green energy revolution that could create millions of new jobs for Americans.

“Finally for the wonderful people I have met from many different countries, I am voting for Hillary Clinton because she intends to responsibly end the war in Iraq and work to cooperatively solve the multiplicty of global problems that our world faces together.

“I am supporting Hillary Clinton today because like me, all of these people of whom I just spoke, not present in the room today need a president who is a pragmatic problem solver with a clear vision of what we can be, and the substantive policy proposals to get us there.”

That was my speech. It was followed up by the candidate speech from the Obama supporter that said in essence, “I am voting for Barack, because Hillary can’t win in November.”

Huh? That was it? Where was the flowerly rhetoric about hope? Where was the vision? Are Barack supporters now operating out of, dare I say it, fear? Also, where are you getting this notion that Hillary can’t win in November. Are you a pollster? I didn’t think so. How ridiculous is it that you are basing your vote on some opinion poll, taken months before the November election that doesn’t reflect the demographic realties of the fact that swing state votes are what matter the most, not nationwide polling data. Give me a break people. Do you live and die by everything that the media tells you these days without any thought of rationality? Does the fact that these flash nationwide polls done by the big media sources like CNN aren’t the most scientific things give you pause at all?

The total for my precinct caucus – 1 delegate for Hillary (me, I might add); 3 for Obama.

In scoring it should look like this – substance:1 fear:3

Good job Seattle.

Leave a Reply

