Great Stories from Legal History

For the better part of the last two weeks I have been here in Boston completing my Directed Fieldwork Requirement at the Social Law Library. For the better part of that time, I have been working on a project with rare books, which is quite enjoyable if you enjoy British History the way I do.

Today, I processed the print copy of the complete trial Queen Caroline, wife of George IV (who ranks in the top V of my least favorite British Monarchs).

Her philandering husband had the audacity to try to divorce her for infidelity. Parliament exonerated her though and his divorce was denied. Unfortunately, she only lived another year after the trial to enjoy her triumph. Also unfortunate for her were the reports about her that neither she nor her underclothes were washed frequently.

Also today, I processed a copy of Speeches by Oliver Wendell Holmes, Junior that was also signed by Oliver Wendell Holmes, Junior.

Finally, today I also read some of the trial accounts of the Salem witch trials. The trial accounts included some of the history of witch trials in the British realm. The estimate of people put to death for witchcraft in British lands since the reign of James I – over 3,000. That is pretty staggering.

Leave a Reply

