Bacteria can be Beautiful

People who know me know that I am obsessed with bacteria and viruses of all kind, usually of the infectious variety. However, when visiting Yellowstone on our cross-country drive from Seattle to DC, I also became fascinated with bacteria of the beautiful quality. Behold:


Here are some other scenes from our all too brief stay in Yellowstone:

I was impatient to wait for Old Faithful. We arrived shortly after she had erupted, and I tried to be patient and wait for her to blow again. But I couldn’t. However, we were treated to seeing the Behive Geyser erupt. And apparently, it only erupts once a day, and it actually erupts more steadily and higher in the air than Old Faithful does. So, I was satisfied.

I also really loved the lodge by Old Faithful (The Wilderness Lodge at Disney World is based on this lodge).

Unfortunately, these were the only bears that I saw:

But we did see other wildlife. There was a bison causing quite the traffic backup:

And in addition to the many deer and elk that we saw, we also this poor, solitary coyote. So misunderstood…

It was a beautiful day. And just think, it is all thanks to the potentially catastrophic volcanic activity taking place just beneath the surface of these wildflowers.

Supervolcanoes. Like bacteria, such beautiful things.

Leave a Reply

