Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes

Tomorrow I am leaving for my road trip across the Southeast. Knightley and I will be driving from DC to Lake Norman, NC tomorrow and will spend the night with Grammy. On Sunday we will continue on to Mississippi. While I am there with my parents, we will drive to Pensacola one evening and spend the night there. The following weekend, I will drive back to North Carolina on Saturday and back to DC on Sunday. That is alot of time in a car. I am actually very excited though. In DC, I rarely drive in the car, so when I do, I stick to satellite radio – generally XMU. So I am excited to reaquant myself with my, now outdated, CD collection. Here are a few I am specifically looking forward to:

1. Books on CD by Truman G. Madsen who recently passed away. Brother Madsen was my stake president for awhile when I was at BYU. He was a spiritual giant who was also one of the best teachers that BYU has ever known. I can’t wait to listen to his commentary on the teachings of Joseph Smith on my Sunday drive!

2. The Moody Blues – They remind me of my Mom, and from time to time, they are the exact right thing to listen to. I believe that this weekend will be that time again.

3. Jimmy Buffet – No trip to the Gulf Coast this time of year is complete without a little bit of parrothead paradise. In the car I can sing along loudly at the top of my lungs with only Knightley to annoy.

4. Mix CDs so old that I have forgotten what comes next – back in my university days, I could make a mean mix. I would agonoize over what should come next and liked having an element of suprise for listeners. Now, it has been so long since I have listened to my old mixes, I will have that element of suprise, not sure of what comes next. Will it be Radiohead followed by some old school Zairian pop music? Or will it be followed up by some Ella Fitzgerald? I just don’t know.

5. Paul Simon, Graceland – Always. Every road trip requires this album. I am singing it in my head already, “For reasons that I cannot explain there’s still part of me that wants to see Graceland…”

Here’s to the road…

2 thoughts on “Changes in Latitudes, Changes in Attitudes

  1. I am so glad that your new daughter will enter the world to such fantastic music! Of course, I would expect nothing less from such a musically talented person!

Leave a Reply

