Remember that old widget?

Some time ago, I posted the CDC Widget on the right about the H1N1 flu epidemic. Today, the Washington Post has this article.

I recognize that sometimes I have the whole paranoid alarmist thing down. But, I am not crying wolf on this one. On Friday, July 31st, my Aunt Sue passed away because of complications from the H1N1 flu. She was an otherwise healthy 50 year old, mother of three, and my dad’s youngest sibling. It came as a shock to us all, and I haven’t been sure how to process it because it still seems surreal.

What has come out of this experience is a belief that it is vitally important that the federal government develop a vaccine for this flu before flu season hits in earnest. It is important that this vaccine reaches as many people as possible. Secondly, it is vitally important that if you do develop symptoms, that you go see a doctor immediately. Delaying, even for one day, can ultimately be deadly.

I don’t mean to be alarmist. I think it is important that my Aunt Sue’s memory stand for something.

Leave a Reply

