A Book that I Love Desperately

Last year for my brother-in-law’s birthday, I gave him a few Maira Kalman books, including The Principles of Uncertainty, which I thought he would enjoy, and two of the Pete books, What Pete Ate from A to Z and Smartypants (Pete in School), that I thought he would enjoy reading to his son one day. I have a profound appreciation for the illustrations of Ms. Kalman. However, I can state that in my view, in no place have those illustrations been put to better use than in The Elements of Style (illustrated). I have made overtures to the idea that I would try to be better with proofreading, punctuation, and grammar in my blog posts. Yet, catching up on all of those rules that I should remember from seventh grade can be so tedious. This is where this book comes into play. The illustrations are simply delightful, enabling me to withstand the tortuous references to all of the ways in which I am probably misusing commas.
Leave a Reply

