A Case of the Tuesdays and Respite from It

Every morning, as I make my way to the door in our house that leads to the garage, Knightley follows me anxiously.  He tries to escape to the garage when I open the door.  Some mornings, like today, he is successful. He then sits, stares at me, and refuses to go back inside.  If I am going to be leaving for the day, he wants to come with me.  However even while desiring to accompany me for my day, he always has a defeatist look on his face, like the one pictured above. He anticipates already that he is not going to get his way and that he is going to end up back inside, either because I have lured him with a treat or because I have picked him up and carried him back.  He doesn’t know how much I secretly wish he could come to work with me too.  I know that he and I would both be happier if we could spend the entire day together.

On some days, like today, when an unexpected passing reminds me that none of us know how long we have on this planet, I really wish that I could spend more of my days with those I love.

If you ever feel the way that I do today, then I highly recommend that you read this talk from the most recent General Conference given by Richard C. Edgley. Like many other people, I think that one of the hardest things in the world for me to do is to admit that my knowledge is limited and that I don’t understand something.  We expect that our own logic and reason will get us all the way there with understanding why things in this world are the way that they are.  It is with considerable hubris that humans believe that we can reason out complete answers when we will always have incomplete information.  Making that choice, of choosing faith with the confidence that if we just believe that we will someday know and understand, is hard to do and not feel like it is a cop-out response, done because you are scared of thinking anymore about a particular question.  Of course, it isn’t a cop-out, it is a choice to admit our own limitations and instead rely on God’s superior wisdom.  Through that humble admission, we then can begin that journey to the full and complete understanding that we desire. The confirmation comes after the trial of our faith.

Leave a Reply

