Injured Reserve List

  

I won’t be dancing adagios again anytime soon.  Yesterday, I sprained my foot and pulled some ligaments pretty badly.  I don’t think I have ever sprained anything before, because I have never been in this much pain. Seriously, when I broke my foot the first week of my job in New York City, I wasn’t in this much pain.  I walked home, went to sleep, woke up the next morning and saw my foot was black and blue and swollen, but still didn’t go to the emergency room until after work that day.  I wasn’t really allowed to leave work because the lawyer who was training us wouldn’t let me, so I had to wait.  Even still, after I visited the emergency room and was told my foot was broken, I walked home nearly blocks from New York Presbyterian Hospital in my newly outfitted walking boot.  It didn’t even really hurt that badly.

So yesterday when the doctor told me that my foot was sprained, not broken I looked at her like she was crazy; because my foot really, really hurt.  They wrapped it up and sent me on my way with a pair of crutches.  I don’t know why they think crutches are so helpful to a person who has just done serious damage to her foot walking down a wheelchair ramp in a church parking lot.  Clearly, I already have mobility issues. I don’t think I am going to be a whiz with the crutches either.  Plus, I have the upper body strength of a seven-year old girl.  Using the crutches has another trip to the emergency room written all over it.

So, I am staying home from work today and trying to stay up my foot, hoping that by the time that I have to go to work tomorrow afternoon, I might be able to at least function enough to get from the car to my office.  In the meantime, when I need to move to another room, I crawl between rooms and up and down the stairs, instead of using the crutches. It is pretty pathetic, I’ll admit. David had to fly to Atlanta for the day for work, so it is Knightley and me at home, both down on all fours. 

I woke up this morning and my foot still hurt, a lot.  I am kind of annoyed that the doctor told me that a really bad sprain can hurt worse than a break, but then didn’t prescribe me any pain medication.  When I broke my foot, that doctor did, but I didn’t even need it and ended up not taking any of the meds. I really wish that I would have saved those for use now, because it really, really hurts.

2 thoughts on “Injured Reserve List

  1. I’m so sorry about your injury! I sprained my ankle once from sledding on ice-covered snow. It hurt so bad! My advice to you: self-medicate.

Leave a Reply

