A Reading Suggestion for the Temporarily Immobile

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin

If you find yourself immobile for a couple of days, that is all the time you will need to polish off this delightful little novel. It has been so long since I have read any book that I though accurately portrays rural Mississippi and does it with characters that are so artfully developed, that I would swear that they are people living down the street from my parents.  Also, this book describes modern race relations in Mississippi in a more complete way than any non-fiction book than I have ever read. 

They bill this book as a mystery, or suspense novel, and although this book is completely what I would term “Gothic Mississippi”, even that doesn’t adequately describe it.  It is character-driven, not plot driven.  It doesn’t tell its tale linearly, but it does do it masterfully. 

It is definitely one of my favorite novels published in 2010. 

Also, in case you didn’t know, “crooked letter, crooked letter” is a part of how every Southern child learns how to spell Mississippi. “M-I-crooked letter-crooked letter-I-crooked letter-crooked letter-I-humpback – humpback – I.”

Leave a Reply

