“I got a rock.”

   I had to take another sick day at work today. Last week, I went to the dermatologist and had a biopsy on a mole that looked kind of funny. It came back, not as a melanoma, but with abnormal characteristics (an dysplastic nevus), so the dermatologist recommended that he remove all of it and a buffer zone around it.  Just another skin care casualty from too much youthful time in the sun.  Whoever told us sunshine was good for us was clearly wrong.  Between this and my foot, I have been to the doctor more in the past two weeks than I have in a very long time.

My arm still hurts more than I thought it would where they removed it, but at least I can console myself by watching “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” tonight on television.  This is still pretty much my favorite cartoon ever.  Snoopy as the World War I Flying Ace; Charlie Brown’s excitement at being invited (mistakenly, of course) to his first party; and most of all, Linus’s optimism that the Great Pumpkin would show himself in what he believed was surely the most sincere pumpkin patch around. Like Linus, I too have been on a long time search for sincerity as far as the eye can see, in the hope that something like the Great Pumpkin would appear.  So far, every year my pumpkin patch has fallen just a bit short, as well, but I think every year I am getting closer.

Leave a Reply

