A More Restful Sleep

The new Master Bedroom is not yet ready for its public unveiling as we just received the new furniture yesterday.  There is still some decluttering going on and moving of the old furniture out of the room that needs to be finished. However, as Knightley demonstrates above, the new bed is pretty comfortable. I don’t think I have slept so well in a very long time (of course, that could have also been because of the drug that Sarah gave me to help with my lingering arm pain).  Now that we have a king bed, Knightley appreciates that he too can spread out a little bit more. 

Of course, the downside is that I wanted to have white bed linens for the bed to contrast with the dark wood furniture that we chose.  With Knightley always wanting to be on the bed, that translates to much more difficulty with the bed staying clean. Nonetheless, I don’t blame Knightley for wanting to sleep in comfort. I know that I do.  I have suffered from pretty severe insomnia for longer than I can remember. It takes me an hour or more after I get in bed to fall asleep at night, and then I wake up at least three or four times a night.  Maybe it was exhaustion from all the excitement of the day, but last night I fell asleep relatively quickly and only had to get up once in the middle of the night. That is pretty good for me.  The only downside to the new bed is that it is much more difficult to get out of bed in the morning.  That will remain a work in progress.

FYI – We also received our new dining room furniture finally. Unfortunately though, the deck that goes on top of the buffet was damaged and had to be returned and repaired, so that room isn’t ready for its public unveiling either. I am already trying to find an occasion for which we can use our big table, too!

2 thoughts on “A More Restful Sleep

  1. i love that bedding! i have been looking for something clean and simple like that for our bed too. Where did you get yours? Or do you have other bedding recommendations? : )

    1. Actually, it isn’t very exciting, but I just got this bedding at Bed, Bath & Beyond. It was a Nicole Miller bedding set that I liked. You can’t really tell the colors in the terrible picture I snapped with my phone, but it is white with green trim. Here it is on the Bed, Bath & Beyond website – http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=115535&RN=26& (They also have that pattern in other colors). I don’t know what it is, but having a white bed just feels so much more comfortable, like I am always staying in a hotel. Of course, keeping a white bed clean with a black dog who insists on sleeping and taking naps on your bed is somewhat problematic. Because we have been looking for bedding for our new bed plus new bedding for a guest bedroom, I have looked in alot of places, I have come across some that I really like. Here are a few.

      I really love Blissliving (they sell it at the online Linens and Things) and sort of fell in love with this bedroom set: http://www.lnt.com/product/duvet-covers/10328-25443/blissliving-home-icelandic-dream.html; that one has more colors in it, but it is still pretty simple and the colors are very calming. There are lots of other great choices by Blissliving at the Linens And Things website.

      Williams Sonoma Home also has some really nice simple sets like this – http://www.wshome.com/products/p4920/index.cfm?pkey=cduvet%2Dcovers%2Dpillow%2Dshams or this rope border one that looks like it is one sale http://www.wshome.com/products/p4001/index.cfm?pkey=cduvet%2Dcovers%2Dpillow%2Dshams

      I also kind of loved this one at the Nordstrom website – http://shop.nordstrom.com/S/3113379?origin=category&resultback=1139

      This was another one that I liked alot at Bed, Bath and Beyond – http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=125873&; We considered this DKNY one too, but David thought it was too girly – http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=117371

      I really loved this one from Neiman Marcus – http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/catalog/prod.jhtml?itemId=prod85080079&parentId=cat22730740&masterId=cat3520787&index=22&cmCat=cat000000cat000553cat17640731cat16130735cat3520787cat22730740, but somehow couldn’t convince David that we needed to spend a few thousand dollars on bedding. Could you imagine what it would feel like to sleep on 1,020 Thread-Count bedding? I would never get out of bed.

      Anyway, I wasn’t particularly creative with where we looked, but found plenty of things to choose from. Hope that helps! Also, I hope married life is absolutely wonderful for you!

Leave a Reply

