Three Degrees of Separation

Last night, I finished the book The Sisters: The Saga of the Mitford Family, which I will describe in greater detail in a later post. However, near the end of the book, I had a glorious revelation. As it turns out, based on facts that I didn’t know before last night, there are only three degrees of separation between myself and Queen Elizabeth.  This is a very exciting discovery.  However, what makes it exciting, is that I realized that a professor with whom I worked with extensively at Georgetown (he was one of my research colleagues) is the grandson of Jessica Mitford (the communist rebel Mitford sister). I had no idea of this before yesterday.  That means his great-aunt is the Duchess of Devonshire (now dowager Duchess). Of course, the Dowager Duchess of Devonshire is the in the close orbit of the Queen, and is in fact a contemporary of the Queen.  Being only three degrees removed from the Queen, do you think that is enough to score an invitation to the wedding of Prince William and Catherine Middleton on April 29? Probably not.

I am seriously fascinated with the Mitford family, though.  Six sisters who came from a relatively poor aristocratic family that basically were involved with all of the radical political movements of their day is pretty amazing.  Unfortunately, three degrees of separation to the Queen via the Mitford family also means, though, that I am only four degrees removed from Hitler, as Unity Mitford and Diana Mitford Mosely were big fans of that creep.  It also means three degrees of separation from Winston Churchill who was the uncle (by marriage) of the Mitford sisters. 

For someone who loves European history the way I do, these are very exciting realizations.  However, in most people, I realize this will induce only a shrug of the shoulders.

3 thoughts on “Three Degrees of Separation

  1. I actually think it’s interesting. Admittedly, I might not look these things up on my own, but I’m glad you have a passion for it. I learn quite a bit whenever you post about your European/monarchy knowledge (which is quite extensive for someone who did not major in it…)

    1. Stacy, you know me well enough to know that I pride myself on all of the useless knowlege I have obtained in subjects that I didn’t major. And I am acquiring more all of the time. I am the queen of acquiring useless knowledge that does nothing to give me any actual skills capable of contributing to the world in any meaningful way.

      1. Yes, that’s what makes it so fantastic! 🙂 You have plenty of other skills and knowledge wherein you contribute in a meaningful way to the world, that it’s nice to have some additional “color.” That, and I want to be your partner whenever we play trivial pursuit.

Leave a Reply

