If you are craving something tart…

This photo was taken by Naomi, of the Rockstar Diaries.

Earlier in the month, I made a key lime pie for Pie Night at Naomi and Josh’s in DC.  For some bizarre reason, my simple little pie won the night.  Making a key lime pie is pretty easy, but the simplicity of the flavors combining to make something completely delicious is probably why key lime pie will always be my favorite pie.  Because the ingredients are so few, makes sure that you use the best ones you can find. The biggest taste difference, of course, comes from the key lime juice, as I explain below.  People are always telling me that they love key lime pie, and I always tell them that it is really easy to make. This blog post is my proof of just how easy it is.

The recipe that I use, I adapted from the recipe for the Key Lime Pie at the Yacht Club Resort at Disney World, where David and I had our reception.  Here it is:

Key Lime Pie
Makes 1 9-inch pie
 
I adapted this recipe from the recipe for the Key Lime Pie they serve at the Yacht Club Resort at Disney World. It is where David and I had our reception.
 
For the crust:
1.5 cups graham cracker crumbs
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tsp sugar
1 stick melted butter
 
In mixing bowl, combine all of dry ingredients, then mix in the melted butter.  Mixture should hold together when squeezed. Press the mixture into a 9-inch pie pan.
 
For the filling:
 
** The type of key lime juice you use affects how much you should use.  Key lime juices vary in potency and taste.  I usually like my pies tarter, so 6 tablespoons is the lowest amount of juice that I will ever use, and more often than not, I usually use a few tablespoons more.  My favorite key lime juice to use (unless I am somewhere there is fresh key limes, of course) is Nellie & Joe’s 100% Key Lime Juice with No Preservatives.  ( You can visit the Nellie & Joe’s website here. They make a kind that has preservatives and it affects the taste, so be careful that you purchase the one with no preservatives.)
 
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
4 egg yolks
6 tablespoons Key Lime Juice **
 
In bowl, combine milk, egg yolks, and lime juice and mix well. Pour into crust.
 
Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until filling is set.  Then, refrigerate for at least three hours until serving, until well-chilled.
 
For the whipped topping:
Because I like my pie tart, I like putting fresh whipped cream all over the top of my pie before serving for a contrast of flavors and textures. I make the simpliest whipped cream possible, though, as I don’t want any flavors competing with the lime.  This is why I don’t even use vanilla.  If you don’t want to serve your cake with the whipped cream already spread on top, then you can serve it on the side.
 
1 pint (2 cups) Heavy Cream
3 tablespoons sugar
 
Whip the cream and the sugar until stiff peaks form. Top the pie with the whipped cream and refrigerate until you serve. 

For minimal effort, you can be rewarded with a delicious pie in no time at all.  This isn’t a food blog (although, I do enjoy baking, cooking, and most of all, eating), but I feel the need to bust a cap through the notion that making a key lime pie is a difficult endeavor.

One thought on “If you are craving something tart…

  1. Oh my word, when I read the title of this post off to the side, before clicking on it, my train of thought went: tart…mmm tarts. I like tarts. And pies. Oooh, like the key lime pie we had on Ocracoke Island. Yeah, key lime pies are awesome. I want some key lime pie. Too bad I don’t have the stuff to make one. And I really don’t want to go to the store to get them. Store bought? Nah, just can’t compete. Dang it, I want pie. Need a distraction. I wonder what Leslie’s post is about.

    And now I am craving key lime pie even more. Argh.

    But thanks for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

