Snowy Wrap Up

Last week I spent a few days in the greater Boston metropolitan area. I went for a work-related conference,  but the upside of entering the frozen tundra of Massachusetts meant that I was able to spend time with Katie and her lovely family.

 I changed my flight to arrive earlier on the day Wednesday so I could get ahead of the next snowstorm that was expected. Of course, even before the next snowstorm started, this was the view from my hotel window.

That is more snow than I have had to deal with in a while. Well, at least since the snowpocalypse snowstorms in Washington D.C. last year.

The snow fell overnight and I learned another reason I couldn’t live in the Northeast or any climate where people actually respond to the issue of falling snow in a timely manner. The snow plows kept me up all night long.  Seriously, it sounded like a construction zone outside of my window, and I longed for the quiet of my dull neighborhood in Durham, NC.  In fact, I blame this completely sleepless light for compromising my immune system and resulting in the awful illness that has consumed me since I have returned from the frozen tundra.

Here is a look out of the same window the next morning, after the sleepless thoroughly snow-plowed night.

Suffice it to say, my new Cole Haan high heel Oxfords stayed packed away in my suitcase the entire time as my feet remained firmly implanted in the emergency snow boots that I had to purchase during the snowpocalypse of DC last year.  

My reward for spending the day trekking through the snow was the ability to spend the next two days with this adorable face:

The cold was completely worth it for the opportunity to spend a couple of days with good friends. I am not a person with many acquaintance friendships, but I am someone who considers myself incredibly privileged to have a set of a few very good friends.  Sadly, we live scattered across the country.  Despite the distance, it feels like no time has passed at all and that we can talk about anything.  Good friends like that are very important. Katie is a great friend. In addition to Katie, I was able to see one good friend from library school, one friend from my last job, and one friend from many years ago. Not bad for a three day trip.

Unrelated Notes:

I cannot go an entire day in Cambridge, Massachusetts without my intellectual inferiority complex setting in. In order to combat this feeling, then I had to make a purchase of books.  Being sick for a few days has at least provided me an opportunity to already get some good reading in. I have finally gotten around to reading Plagues and Peoples, but I also started a new book written by an MIT Professor, Sherry Turkle, called Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less of Each Other. That book has already caused me to spontaneously erupt in to affirmative statements at several moments, in spite of the fact that it really hurts to talk right now.  In contemplating good friends versus the world of intermediary acquaintances via the World Wide Web and other technology, the choice seems obvious. This doesn’t mean that I don’t think that technology can help with keeping in touch with people, but I definitely think that the medium of technology sometimes makes us feel more connected to people than we actually are.  This is a very ineloquent way to say things that Professor Turkle says much more eloquently.

Also, speaking of the annoyance of attempting to carry out meaningful relationships via technology, it really stinks that last week, David was in Seattle and didn’t get back until after I left for Boston, and then, while I was in Boston, learned that he had to go back to Seattle this week.  If we actually get to spend a full week together in the month of February, it might be amazing!

Finally, here is my last unrelated story, which fits the category of an amusing anecdote.  Tonight, I thought that a nice warm bath would help my throat to feel better, so I decided to take a soak in the jacuzzi. Yes, that is one of the benefits of having a semi-suburban home, a master bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.  However, I didn’t close my bathroom door all of the way, and Knightley decided that he wanted to take a soak too, so he jumped right in. That dog loves to swim. Sadly, I don’t love chasing a wet dog all over the house.  The aftermath was quite hilarious, but cannot be photo documented. I realized that 30 seconds of painful laughter resulted in an hour of cleanup that was no fun in my sick state.  Next time, I will be sure to close the door all the way.

On the upside, I may still be sick, but at least it is going to be in the 60s here tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

