Spring Listening Pleasures

By now, everyone knows that the song posted above is pretty great. The video reminds me of very long drives across the state of Texas that my family undertook at least twice a year back when we were transporting ourselves between Pensacola, FL and Provo, UT for home and college. Even if people didn’t know how fantastic the original song is, others have been brought to knowledge of its wonderfulness by the acoustic cover by a father and daughter seen here:

Yes, it is adorable.

The frontman of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Alexander Ebert, released his solo album, Alexander, on March 1. Let me tell you, it is pretty perfect, in my humble opinion. Maybe it is because I feel like I am currently undergoing a touch of midlife crisis, or existential angsting, depending on your preferred terminology, but the sense of sublime happiness when listening to “A Million Years” is pretty tangible.

The whole album is like that for me.  Its folksiness makes me feel like I am listening to a modern-day reincarnation of Simon and Garfunkel.  I like.

Leave a Reply

