On Top of the Table

   If there is one lesson that I imparted to the world about myself during the trip to South Africa, it is this: Leslie Street doesn’t roll over when it comes to pushy Chinese businessmen who are in Africa to economically rape a continent by taking all of their raw materials and then exporting to them their crappily made consumer products (all while conveniently ignoring brutal dictatorships and human rights atrocities). That’s right, that is how I really feel. What about American oil companies in the Niger Delta and Equatorial Guinea?  Look, I wouldn’t let those people push in front of me on a Cable Car up Table Mountain either, but there weren’t any of those people there when I visited.  Also, they presumably might show a little more respect to women.  There were, however, a busload full of Chinese businessmen, who were trying to push in front of me, and that will not be tolerated. So ultimately, the Chinese businessmen had to back down when it comes to me,  because this is one American who isn’t going to buy their crappy products, much less allow them to territorially expand into my personal space.

Yeah, also, I am still afraid of heights which made a trip up a mountain in a rotating cable car already a nerve-wracking experience.

It may not look so bad when looking at it from that angle, but how about these angles?

Trust me when I say that for me it was terrifying. It was even the more terrifying on the way down when I didn’t have a cable car full of Chinese businessmen on whom to deflect my attention.

Nonetheless, in spite of my imagining the car plummeting thousands of feet to certain death below, I was able to snap a few pictures of the beautiful cliffs, sky and other scenery on the way up and down:

At the top, the views were even more spectacular, of course.

A view of Camps Bay from the top of Table Mountain.
Looking down the Cape Peninsula toward the Cape of Good Hope
Looking over a hazy Cape Town

At the top, David and I explored the fynbos kingdom of Table Mountain. For those of you who aren’t in the botanical know, the fynbos biome is unique to the Cape of South Africa.  It is biologically speaking, quite species diverse, and exists only in this part of South Africa. Some of these plants are exclusive only to Table Mountain, even! It is the smallest of the world’s six floral kingdoms and is the only floral kingdom that occurs entirely in one country. In many places, it appeared quite otherworldly.

Also, we took many pictures of ourselves, which is what selfish Americans are prone to do:

I am thinking that next time we visit Table Mountain, we probably should try to hike to the top instead of taking the cable car to avoid any negative interactions in enclosed spaces with people from other countries also there visiting.

Leave a Reply

