The Gardenias of September

My favorite gardenia bush in the backyard is nearly in full bloom at present.

This means one thing: my backyard probably smells better than your backyard (unless your backyard has a large gardenia bush in bloom too).

Seriously, one of my favorite things about our house is that we have so many mature plants that just happen to be my favorite members of the plant kingdom.  If I had to start a garden from scratch I would plant the gardenias, hydrangeas (I am not Madonna, after all), dogwoods and azaleas that we already had in the ground.  I also got the bonus of the crape myrtle tree and the rose bushes that I never knew I would love so much.  The only thing that is missing is a bigleaf magnolia tree. I don’t get that fragrance in late Spring in my yard, sadly. Fortunately, many of my neighbors do have bigleaf magnolias in their yard (and campus is full of them), so on walks, I do get to enjoy that familiar scent.

Because the gardenias are in full bloom and I am relishing their fragrance to such an extent right now, I have begun using the unfinished bottle of Estee Lauder’s ‘Tuberose Gardenia’ that I almost forgot I had.  When I am at work, it gives me the smell of home, which is pretty ideal right now.

Leave a Reply

