I Don’t Want to Wait!

David’s parents and sister were in town last weekend and we went to the beach so they could see what a superior beach to California looks like.  Well, to me pretty much any beach is superior to the beaches in Southern California; but as fine as the North Carolina coast is, it still doesn’t compare to Pensacola. Nope. No beach in the continental United States does.  Still, the beaches in North Carolina have one thing going for them that Pensacola doesn’t have – namely, that you can take your dog to the beach with you.  Knightley’s only prior experience with the beach was his visit to “Dog Beach” in Pensacola a couple of years ago, which isn’t really the ocean or gulf, so much as a section of shoreline in Bayou Texar.  So, I was eager to see how he would experience the real thing.

He was tentative in approaching the waves at first, but it took him no time at all to love romping in the water.

Of course, he also enjoyed equally as much, if not more, rolling around in the sand. We give Knightley precious few opportunities to get really dirty, so he really relishes them.  Of course, the after effects of this time in the sand was the longest bath of Knightley’s life.

I love this one with the crazy eyes!
He looks much more civilized in this shot.
He looks much more civilized in this shot.

I enjoyed some beach time too. Of course, I was properly covered in 50 SPF sunscreen, a hat, and sunglasses.

Where did we go to the beach?  Dawson’s Creek.

Actually, it was just south of Wilmington, NC, but near enough to where the filmed Dawson’s Creek. Yes, I am showing my age as well as the fact that I sometimes watched cheesy TV back in the early 00’s.

We also rode a ferry for the first time in Knightley’s life. He was intrigued, yet disappointed to be stuck in the car.

Knightley, like the rest of us, just needs to be around water every now and again.

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Want to Wait!

  1. Aw, I love the photos of Knightley at the beach! I’m looking forward to introducing Stella to the ocean at some point, but she’s actually kind of nervous about water in general so I’m not sure how she’ll do.
    And I loved Dawson’s Creek. Be proud! 🙂

  2. Thanks! It seems like dogs either love the water or hate the water innately. Knightley loves it. Maybe Stella will learn to like water more in time. It is still a little embarassing to admit to liking Dawsons Creek. I loved Pacey Witter, and when he and Joey broke up, I sort of stopped watching until the series finale. I couldn’t ever get into their college years. Sort of like Saved by the Bell being ruined by Saved by the Bell: The College Years.

Leave a Reply

