On Saturdays

Every Saturday that David and I spend in North Carolina, we end up with a car that looks like this:

When we moved to our current home from DC, I had no idea that I would become as addicted to gardening as I have become.  I feel it links me to my Anglo-Saxon roots.  David spent the first six months of our life in North Carolina obsessing about mulching and seeding.  I spent that time oblivious. Then one day, I looked outside the house and realized I needed another hydrangea bush or two, and from that realization to my current state of obsession the descent was rapid. Now, we spent endless amounts of time discussing the needs of our garden.  One day’s conversation is about keeping the deer out of the tomato plants. The next day it is speculation about what could be leaving holes in the leaves on the rose bushes.  Lately though, it has been all about the weeding. Let me just say, the struggle with these noxious weeds helps me feel connection to the curse of Adam and Eve. We didn’t have much of a winter here in the Southeastern United States, and as a result, every minute of my home life could be consumed by weeding, if I let it be. We have so many beds and so many places for weeds to hide. Most of these weeds predate our arrival, so getting them out now means we must wage a vigilant battle. This battle must be waged without the assistance of pesticides as both Prince Charles and Prince David forbid their use.  I guess that is what I get for getting David the Prince of Wales  The Elements of Organic Gardening last year.  This means that I spend my afternoons sifting through soil and picking out roots, one square meter at a time.

On Saturdays, we get to break up the weed control with planning and expanding the garden.  This weekend, we added some depth to our garden by adding some hanging planters. We also planted a new rose-bush in the rose garden.  Owing to my love affair with English roses, we chose Tradescant, a lovely David Austin variety.  But what I really want to know is when his beautiful new William and Catherine rose will be available in America, because I really need its full white blooms in my garden immediately.

David can be Charles with his insistence on perfect composting, and I am Camilla obsessed with making beautiful arrangements with our blossoms. I appreciate the demands of the garden. I live a pretty quiet, simple life these days. Every day when I pull into my driveway, I look at a garden that needs my attention and devotion, and it feels good to be needed. It feels good to see beauty created from the effort of my clumsy, dirty hands.

Leave a Reply

