Pre-Halloween

We aren’t big Halloween people. The last time I dressed up for Halloween was my senior year of college. I dressed up as a communist, which really was almost dressing up as myself. I wore all black (which was pretty easy considering the color black comprised almost the entirety of my senior year of college wardrobe) and then carried around a copy of The Communist Manifesto.  It was not planned in advance, but rather was a last-minute costume for the evening so that I could go to a Halloween party with a friend. That is about as much thought ast I put into a Halloween costume since I was 12 years old.  Even in college I recall spending most Halloween evenings at the library instead of Halloween partying. The only point of Halloween to me ever has been an excuse to eat candy.

So this year, Knightley is once again the only one of us who is representing for Halloween by wearing a costume.

Of course, Knightley is much more excited about greeting trick-or-treaters on the evening of Halloween than he is about dressing up.  He already is eagerly awaiting people visiting by keeping a lookout on the front porch.

I like giving out candy.  It is my favorite part of Halloween. I get to be the house that parents hate but kids live because I am overly generous in my candy portioning.  I believe strongly in giving good candy too. No Tootsie Rolls. No Dots. No dum dum lollipops. Only the good stuff.   I know that the parents in my neighborhood are not pleased.  They host a pre-trick or treating party where they give the kids vegetables to eat. And they give out pre-portioned apple slices to trick-or-treaters.  If that is what Halloween has become, then I don’t see the point of it at all.

Leave a Reply

