After Five Years

Image

I generally avoid public declarations of too much affection because I usually find them trite and exaggerated.  However, I will temporarily let my guard down to celebrate the five years David and I have been married and the ten years we have known each other. During that time, it hasn’t always been fun to deal with the reality of our life experiences, but I appreciate the comfort of know that there is someone else fighting those struggles in my corner, even when on occasion, it seems like you are fighting each other.  I don’t believe in fairy tales, but I do believe in the power that comes when you find someone that is willing to accept you for who you are and walk with you on a path to see who you will become.  Along the way you get to experience some of the happiest moments together because you are able to also endure the worst ones together.  And over time, maybe you learn what it means to really be a partner with someone else and learn that you can accomplish more by growing together with someone else, than you can by refusing to give up your own individual pursuits and going it alone.

Here is my favorite picture of David from our time together. I love it because it was an absolutely perfect moment, in perfect light, on the best trip we have ever taken together, in South Africa. When I look at this picture, it reminds me how capable we are of having perfect moments like this one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

