Noxious

Around this time last year, I was writing mostly about working outside in the yard and the various blooms around our gardens. This year, I am ashamed to say many of those gardens have been overrun with weeds, and I just haven’t had the time or energy to deal with them. Sure, the azaleas looked beautiful this week, but if you looked on the ground you would see the clover and other varieties of noxious weeds.  I keep thinking that I will start to tackle it, but this week the weather has been more reminiscent of Seattle than North Carolina in May, and I have just not been able to function properly with the pain that has worsened. I am having a CT Scan tomorrow so the doctors can try to figure out what is going on.  The combination of pain and anxiety that I have felt about what could possibly be wrong has kept me up most nights, so I am too exhausted in the day to tackle weeding.

Last week, Knightley was feeling miserable too with double ear infections, so Knightley and I would just stay up at night and stare at each other.  It is probably the most pathetic I have felt in a very, very long time.

So now I am passing the time in the evenings reading a long book about the Plantagenets and planning future trips to Tanzania. Seriously, I think I have the perfect trip planned for next summer now.

All of this lying low means that I don’t really have too much exciting to talk about or write about.  And it means those weeds just keep getting taller and taller in the flower beds.

One thought on “Noxious

Leave a Reply

