Take Me Out

I have long neglected this blog because this summer has been intensely busy.  I just finished teaching a course during the first session of summer school (teaching five days a week isn’t something I am used to from teaching law school classes).  I have taken another Virginia Beach trip as well as a trip to DC. I have also been sick (terrible Norovirus) and just generally tired all the time.

David has been out-of-town for two weeks for work. Last night, I decided that I was tired of sitting at home in the evening and decided to take myself out to do something that I have done since my New York days; going to see a movie by myself.  It felt pretty decadent, particularly since when I got home I felt overwhelming guilt for leaving Knightley home by himself in the evening when I had left him home alone all day while I was at work. Part of the reason I feel like such a homebody is because I hate leaving Knightley by himself. And truthfully, I would rather spend an evening with my dog than with most people.  He is much better company.

For a few hours last night I put that guilt aside and headed to Southpoint. I always require getting to the movies quite early these days, as there are only a few seats in the theater where I want to sit. It is embarrassing, but I am so set in my ways, if I don’t get there early enough to get one of those few seats, then I will be resentful through the entire movie.  I stopped by Barnes and Noble on the way to the theater to pick up the latest copy of Tatler so I could pass the time until the movie started in my ideal seat reading about the Spencer-Churchills and the Earl of Derby’s ancestral home. You know, something vapid and mindless to pass the time on an evening when I already felt selfish for leaving poor Knightley home alone.

I then watched Before Midnight. It was sort of the perfect movie to see on my own, because I watched the first two installments of the franchise on my own too. I watched Before Sunset on my own when I lived in New York.  It was far more enjoyable and realistic as a romantic story than the last “romance” I saw in the theater, The Great Gatsby. It seemed like I had already seen that movie before when it was called Romeo and Juliet as directed by Baz Lurhman. Seriously, Leonardo DiCaprio was directed to play that scene where he saw Daisy the first time the exact way that he did when he saw Juliet for the first time. Only he is almost twenty years older now. At The Great Gatsby, we sat next to a bunch teenaged girls who thought they were witnessing the most romantic movie that had ever been made. Call me crazy, but I don’t think that is what F. Scott Fitzgerald intended.  It annoyed me greatly until I remembered that I was once a moony eighteen year-old who thought the same thing when I first watched that Romeo and Juliet in the movie theater. Now, as a chubby middle-aged realist, it all makes me shake my head and roll my eyes.  But, Before Midnight didn’t make me do that, because Jesse and Celine have grown into middle age and now it makes the other two movies so much more realistic in retrospect.

 

Leave a Reply

