Another Weekend at the VA BCH

Last weekend, we went to Virginia Beach to see our niece Phoebe be blessed in church.  It was a great weekend spent with family.  We spent some time at the beach which mostly meant chasing Harry around a very crowded beach (seriously, I don’t know when I last was on a beach that crowded).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love all the random people in the back of crowded beach pictures, unaware that you are memoralizing them, as well as your loved ones.  Considering the number of pictures taken these days, I am sure I am unaware background in many beach pictures on this day too.

The only other thing I have to say about the beach is that Virginia Beach water is cold, even on a very hot summer day. I wasn’t expecting that, because by this time of year in Pensacola at the beach where I grew up, the water is the temperature of tepid bathwater.

Here is the star of the weekend looking a great deal more grown up now:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love this picture of Melissa and Phoebe:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here is Melissa and Jordan’s family photo the morning of the blessing. Unfortunately, it was as humid as possible on Sunday morning, meaning my camera lens kept fogging up and I couldn’t get a very good picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yes, and Harry’s love affair with hotels continued.  He seemed positively thrilled with the prospect of growing up and becoming a “frequent business traveler.” He did not want to leave the hotel and was very happily tucked into the Westin Heavenly Bed in his Heavenly Robe, kicking back and watching some TV.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Only a few weeks until we get a proper full week at the beach when we go to the Outer Banks.  I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

