Back in the Woods

A couple of weeks ago, my mom was in town for one day on her way back home to Mississippi from visiting Melissa’s family in Virginia.  Because it was a few days after this miscarriage happened, I wanted to get out of my house for a break from the sitting around and wallowing that I had been doing.  I decided to take my mom to the old Scotch cemetery in the woods of Moore County so she could see where her McIntosh ancestors were buried.  Since my mom is the one who did all of the genealogy work  associated with us learning more about our McIntosh ancestors, I knew she would appreciate it.

I took a little movie of mom and I trying to decipher the McIntosh gravestones that are becoming harder and harder to read as the years pass. Unfortunately, the cemetery is in a much worse state than when I last saw it.  We had such a stormy summer, there were all kinds of trees and limbs done, some of which had crushed the fragile grave makers.  It makes me sad that this places if falling into ever worse decay, but since some of those graves have been there for longer than 200 years, I guess it is to be expected.

If you don’t mind the annoying sound of my voice and shaky camera work, here is the video:

Knightley accompanied us too, of course. He likes walking in the woods.

It was special to spend time with my mom and think about the struggle of our forebears in the backwoods of North Carolina.  I noticed something different that I hadn’t seen before when I came to the graveyard with David three years ago.  Among the McIntosh graves were so many graves of children who did not outlive their infancy.  So many children.  It really hit me how hard life was for them, and how rare it was for a child to live past their youth because of all that hardship.  It helped me realize that my hardship might be unique to me, but I think the McIntoshes would understand how it feels to grieve for losses and thwarted hopes.  We live in different times, but we really aren’t so different.

In the past few weeks David has been travelling extensively for work, so I have been passing the time engaged in one of my other favorite activities – trying to plan a vacation for Spring Break. I found this awesome week-long sailing trip David and I could do in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, which sounds incredible. However, part of me just wants to go to London for a week.  It has been a really long time since I have just been there.  So, I am going back and forth about the pros and cons of each.  I already went to the Caribbean once this year and am getting ready to go for the second time, so there is that. But spending the week on a Catamaran sailing to the small islands of the Grenadines sounds too good to pass up.  I don’t know.  There are pros and cons to both potential trips.  Any thoughts about which one to do?

One thought on “Back in the Woods

Leave a Reply

