At a Loss

Sometimes, even when I write, I feel like I lack the words to articulate how I feel. I think that is how I feel now after watching Nelson Mandela’s state memorial today. I keep staring at the three quotations on my office wall that come from Madiba, and I think, I just don’t know what to say. His life taught me so much. He was the embodiment of forgiveness, sacrifice, and kindness, all while being one of the sharpest minds on the planet. It is hard to know how to pay tribute to all of that.

However, I think President Obama did a pretty good job of trying to pay tribute today. It probably ranks as my favorite speech that I have heard him give.

Tata, thank you for teaching us all that we can be capable of great things through kindness and forgiveness. Those attributes are more powerful than all the weapons in the world.

Leave a Reply

