Aspirational Gardening

I am a aspirational gardener. What that means is that I love the idea of gardening, I love planting and pruning and picking out flora and mentally planning gardens. However, what happens in reality is I get bogged down in the day to day practically of dealing with weeds and terrible weather that makes staying on top of your garden remotely workable with my weekday schedule. My hands start hurting from pulling weeds, my back starts hurting from being hunched over, and I start throwing things in the garden when the spot I weeded last week now has new emerging growth and it seems like I am never going to have a weed free moment because David won’t let us use any chemical weed killers in the yard. David does most of the weeding, I am not going to lie. I am more of the, “Why don’t we plant climbing roses, or honeysuckle vines, or etc…” gardener in the family (the aspirational gardener), while he is the one that actually does the work.

Beautiful springtime weather and early spring English gardens certainly did serve to motivate me to try a little harder. It would have entirely done the trick if I hadn’t returned to North Carolina to deal with ongoing winter weather that sucked that motivation out again.

Here are some of those motivating scenes.

We saw so many daffodils and crocuses everywhere that I told David I wanted to rip out our front lawn and plant bulbs underneath the grass. We could use a fresh start with our completely weed infested lawn, in any case.

So here is part of the garden at Hampton Court for inspiration:

154

Hampton Court had so many daffodils:

147

150

It was a beautiful spring day for wandering in the gardens generally at Hampton Court. The informal gardens that surround the maze are the exact look I would like to achieve in our yard.

159

146

The early spring blooming trees in St. James’s park were lovely too. The parks in central London were a beautiful place generally to rest our feet in the afternoon.

215

Of course, the gardens of Kew Gardens were the pinnacle. Not only were there plenty of daffodils, crocuses, and flowering trees, but early azaleas and rhododendron were in bloom too. Feast your eyes on all this loveliness:

042

085

081

074

060

038

Of course, all of that beauty provided a backdrop for too many pictures of David and I.

063

037

032

023

009

Maybe we should look into a peacock to wander through our garden too. I don’t think our neighbors would appreciate that aesthetic enhancement, since it comes with an accompanying auditory nightmare.

015

After posting all of these pictures, maybe I now find myself motivated once again.

Leave a Reply

