International Dog of Mystery

Not surprisingly, I have gotten behind in my London posts, due to being overwhelmingly busy. Work has been crazy since I have been back from Spring Break, and when I am at home and the weather isn’t terrible, all I want to do is work in the yard so I don’t lose the gardening momentum. I will try to pick up with my next London post tomorrow.

In the meantime, I want to post a little something about this guy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(I love that picture of Knightley, trying to jump up on a tractor with me at my parents’ house.)

Now sadly, airline restrictions keep Knightley from joining us on any travel adventure where we travel by plane (because I am incredibly uncomfortable with the idea of storing Knightley under the plane). This is a shame, because when I see those dogs in London or Paris, I think Knightley would fit right in. He would have loved Hyde Park, being able to run free and play with the other dogs. Maybe he would have made a new friend in Lupo. Who knows? The best we can do from our trips is for me to miss Knightley terribly the entire duration and then bring him back some stuffed animal memento for him to tear apart when we get home.

Until travel for dogs becomes easier, Knightley can pretend to be an international dog of mystery by experimenting with some international flair in his diet. This isn’t a problem for Knightley, as he loves trying out all kinds of foods. I am not talking about any “Made in China” dog treats of nefarious origin that probably include a healthy dose of plastic and toxic waste. Those will never do for Knightley. Nope. Instead, I am referring to his newest favored dog chew, the “Himalayan Dog Chew” made in Nepal of yak’s milk, lime juice and salt. He loves that thing. He carries it around the house with him in every room where he goes. If you try to take it away from him, he is not happy about it.

Also, because he doesn’t tolerate chicken in his diet very well and has a sensitive stomach when it comes to grain, he is trying out a new source of protein for his kibble – kangaroo. I didn’t feel guilty about feeding Knightley kangaroo (because I heard that there are so many of them in Australia, and they are raised commercially on farms, etc.) and then today I saw this article, that might have made me feel more guilty about it. I don’t know, survival of the fittest or in Knightley’s case, survival of the most pampered must mean something in this situation?

Knightley doesn’t have time to think about the poor kangaroo when he is inhaling his kibble. I have to carry that guilt for him.

084

Leave a Reply

