Tea with the Ladies

It is true that I have attempted to keep a low profile during this pregnancy. I think I have posted far more on this blog than I actually have discussed with people in real life. So, when my friend Erin asked me if she could throw me a baby shower, my inclination was to say no, because I didn’t want to be the center of attention for anything and also, I didn’t want to plan anything in case something else went wrong.  Finally, we settled on having a small gathering of friends at the Carolina Inn for afternoon tea.  I wanted it to be more of a get-together celebration rather than a shower. Two years ago, when David and I were last in New Orleans I bought this hat (which was the most I had spent on a hat at that point in time), with the justification that I was going to wear it at some celebration when I actually was expecting a baby at some point in time. So, I finally got to wear the hat at its intended purpose, so that felt good. It also just felt good to celebrate with a few close friends, people that had been there for me throughout the past several years through all of the hopes and disappointments. I wasn’t kidding when I said I have been keeping things low profile. Some of these friends only found out that I was pregnant when they received the invitations.

Phoebe joined the ladies for tea, and particularly appreciated the sugar scones.

021

Here are a few other pictures of the attendees. I believe a good time was had by all, because we didn’t play any of those ridiculous baby shower games.

022025

Erin went above and beyond and also ordered some beautiful white and green flower arrangements that happened to be perfectly reminiscent of our wedding flowers.

Also, here is a terrible picture of me with the attendees. I post it here, because it was the only one we took, and looking terrible and pregnant is part of my everyday reality.

026

Here I am with Erin afterwards. I look at this picture and I don’t think I look particularly pregnant, just really overweight. Oh well. That wasn’t the point of the day. The point of the day was just to celebrate and have fun with people I care about. Erin was so fantastic to handle all of the arrangements and to drive down from DC. Seriously, I feel incredibly lucky in the friendships that I have.

028

It was fun to have a nice, girly tea party, because I know that my days of tea parties are probably going to be few and far between with the boys. Already, I had to drag David along to tea when we would go places in the past, like to the Ritz in London. I don’t think I will be able to manage that with twin boys too.

Nonetheless, it was fun celebrating them this way all the same.

Leave a Reply

