Teach Your Children Well

DSC_0311

On MLK Day, I started to fret because I had not yet bought a children’s book to read to the boys about MLK and the Civil Rights movement in our country. It was a never-ending spiral from that point. I started thinking about all of the things that I wanted them to learn about and how little time I have to teach them those things. This is the problem with having a generalist as a parent: it isn’t just learning about the Civil Rights movement, it is also learning Bollywood dance moves, how to play the cello (which of course, I would not be the one to teach them), French social issues rap, and how to drive a John Deere Gator. There is so much in this world to learn about, and there are so many different people in the world to learn from.

Of course, I also cannot wait until they start to get older and we get to find out what they are interested in. My goal is to introduce them to as much as I can so they can decide what they want to learn about more (I hope that they love the animals as much as I do, because I have a million ideas for that). I cannot wait to travel with them and show them the world.

I cannot believe they are already six weeks old. It goes so fast. I feel like I missed so much of the first month, because I was sick. I am trying to make up for that time now.

DSC_0403

DSC_0342

Leave a Reply

